Faculty Council Minutes -- September 2010

September 17, 2010
Rosen Center Conference Room
Faculty present
Laurie Apple – HESC (Chair)
Sreekala Bajwa – BAEG
Hayden Brown – ANSC
Duane Wolf - CSES (Substitute for Kristofor Brye)
Don Edgar – AEED
Ashley Dowling – ENTO (Substitute for Donn Johnson)
Jeff Miller – AEED (Chair-elect)
Cindy Moore - HESC
Dan Rainey - AEAB
Latha Devareddy - FDSC
Gene Milus – PLPA (Substitute for Dave TeBeest)
Others Present
Gene Milus – Faculty Senate
Kelly Way – Chair, HESC Curriculum Committee
Administrators present:
Michael E. Vayda – Dean and Associate Vice President for Agriculture-Academic Programs
Mark Cochran - Associate Vice President - Research for the Division of Agriculture – Arkansas Agricultural Experiment Station
Call to Order – Laurie Apple, chair, called the meeting to order at 2:30 p.m.
Approval of Agenda – Motion made and seconded to approve the agenda. Motion adopted by voice approval.
Approval of Minutes – Motion made and seconded to approve August 20, 2010 Faculty Council minutes. Motion adopted by voice approval.
Administration Reports
Bumpers College - Dean Mike Vayda
Dr. Vayda initiated the strategic planning process with the department heads at a retreat on August 31. Dr. Vayda has followed up with a one-on-one meeting with each department head for feedback. Dr. Vayda will send out a strawman document on September 20 as a way to prompt discussion.
Dr. Vayda attended the Ag Curriculum Committee meeting on September 16. A recommendation will be forthcoming from the committee members regarding the sustainability minor.
Dr. Vayda reported that the AFLS building's basement is being considered for a Food Labs Core Facility. There is approximately 8,000 square feet available for remodeling. The project is needed quickly, so fundraising will be initiated immediately.
The child study center project is gathering steam and will need immediate fundraising also.
The Senior Design Project (Senator Bumpers Scholars) has received much positive support. There will be a test run in the spring and Dr. Vayda asked for names of seniors who would be available and interested in taking this course.
Division of Agriculture – Arkansas Agricultural Experiment Station
Associate Vice President - Research Mark Cochran
Dr. Catherine E. Woteki was confirmed as the next Under Secretary for Research, Education, and Economics at the U.S. Department of Agriculture by the United States Senate on September 16, 2010.
Grantsmanship Seminar – November 17, 2010 in Tulsa, Oklahoma to be held jointly with Oklahoma State. The department heads will receive registration forms. The group will ask each of the participants to target one of three federal agencies of primary interest: USDA, NIH or NSF.
Dr. Keith Lusby, Department Head of Animal Science, has announced his retirement, effective February, 2011. A replacement search is in process.
Standing Committee Reports
University Faculty Senate – Gene Milus
Dr. Milus gave everyone a copy of the summary from the Faculty Senate meeting on September 15. Dr. Milus did note that those faculty and staff who have been purchasing season football tickets at half-price will be allowed to continue to do so. Late renewals however, will cause a permanent loss of these seats.
Ag Curriculum Committee – No report
HESC Curriculum Committee – Kelly Way
Dr. Way will send an electronic copy of the HESC Curriculum Committee's report to Carmen Alessi for distribution to the Faculty Council. The curriculum committee handbook will be revised, minor changed were submitted by Hospitality and Apparel Studies. Much of the meeting was to clean up issues. Major changes will be presented for first and second readings at the October 8 meeting.
Graduate Council Report – Laurie Apple
Earlier in the week, Dr. Larry Purcell forwarded a Conflict of Interest Policies for graduate committees to Carmen Alessi for distribution to the Faculty Council. Dr. Apple asked the Faculty Council to forward comments to Dr. Purcell.
Dr. Apple received confirmation from the Faculty Council members that their respective departments have initiated strategic planning discussions.
Old Business – Laurie Apple, none
New Business – Laurie Apple, none
The four new senators for Faculty Senate include Bruce Ahrendsen, Nilda Burgos, Tom Costello, and Mary Savin. Dr. Savin will complete the one-year term vacated by Nann Miller due to Interior Design's move to the School of Architecture.
The promotion and tenure committee has been elected for 2010 and John R. Clark has been elected as chair. Carmen Alessi will forward the list of names of the P&T Committee to the Faculty Council.
Dr. Laurie Apple reminded the Faculty Council to submit names for nomination for chair-elect of the Faculty Council. The nominee must be someone who is currently serving or has served previously on the Faculty Council. Dr. Apple will request the Nomination Committee to search for nominees. The chair-elect must be elected by the October 15, 2010 Faculty Council meeting.
Duane Wolf announced there were be approximately 700 high school students and their parents on campus Monday, September 20, attending the Honors Convocation for high school students.

Dr. Apple reminded everyone of the remaining Faculty Council meeting dates: October 15, November 19 and December 8, 2010.
Motion made and seconded to adjourn. The meeting adjourned at 3:00 p.m.
Submitted by
Carmen Alessi