Faculty Council Minutes -- September 2011

September 16, 2011
Rosen Center Conference Room
Faculty present
Charles Rosenkrans, Jr. – ANSC, Substitute for Hayden Brown
Kristofor Brye - CSES (Chair-elect)
Ron Buescher – FDSC
Don Edgar – AEED
Ken Korth – PLPA
Donn Johnson - ENTO
Jeff Miller – AEED (Chair)
Cindy Moore - HESC
Brad Murphy – HORT
Yi Liang- BAEG, Substitute for Scott Osborn
Thad Scott – CSES
Dan Rainey - AEAB
Others Present
Leslie Edgar – Ag Curriculum Sub-Committee
Jackie Wiersma - Graduate Council
Kelly Way – HESC Curriculum Sub-Committee
Administrators present:
Rick Roeder – Interim Associate Vice President for Agriculture – Research and Interim Director,
Arkansas Agricultural Experiment Station
Michael E. Vayda – Dean and Associate Vice President for Agriculture-Academic Programs
Lona Robertson – Associate Dean
Curt Rom – Honors Program Director
Call to Order – Jeff Miller, chair, called the meeting to order at 2:30 p.m.
Approval of Agenda – Motion made and seconded to approve the agenda. Motion adopted by voice approval.
Approval of Minutes – Motion made and seconded to approve the August 19, 2011, Faculty Council minutes. Motion adopted by voice approval.
Administration Reports
Division of Agriculture – Interim Associate Vice President for Agriculture – Research and
Interim Director, Arkansas Agricultural Experiment Station, Rick Roeder
Interviews for the Associate Vice President for Research, Director of Arkansas Agricultural Experiment Station are ongoing this month.
The Division of Agriculture has made a slight change to their logo and Dr. Roeder asked that everyone please begin using the new logo as appropriate.
Campus has shared a document on how to better organize and orchestrate centers and institutes and the Division of Agriculture is reviewing the document at this time.
October 6-9, the Division of Agriculture will be hosting the staff of Arkansas' senators and other congressional people in Fayetteville. Discussions will include the new farm bill. November 17 the Division of Agriculture will be hosting an all commodity board conference in Little Rock and members will come from various boards: rice, soybean, cotton, etc.
Bumpers College - Dean Mike Vayda
Please click on the link to view Dr. Vayda's report.
Bumpers College – Associate Dean Lona Robertson
Dr. Robertson reviewed enrollment numbers. The campus enrollment is at 23,199 students which is an increase of 8.3 percent over last year (undergraduates and graduates). Bumpers College has 1563 undergraduate students and 318 graduate students, which is an increase of 5.8 percent over last year. The College is lagging behind the campus growth. The largest major is Food, Human Nutrition and Hospitality (336 students), the second largest major is Animal Science (225 students), and third largest major is Apparel Studies (191 students).
The associate dean's office is reviewing those courses fall 2011 that have either waiting lists or who filled beyond capacity to decide if they would make good summer offerings. Four courses have been identified as those courses with significant waiting lists that students were not able to enroll in. Dr. Robertson will contact the respective department heads to discuss offering summer courses.
Comprehensive process – intent – plateau at 25,000 students
All courses evaluations will be 100 percent online this fall. Dr. Robertson is still waiting for a few departments to submit their questions. (5 questions consistent across the respective department)
Dr. Robertson has a course evaluation schedule of when faculty are going to be asked to give their questions and will send out to all faculty.
Dr. Robertson will be scheduling a meeting with the Awards Committee soon.
There is a new academic integrity policy and the first hearings begin on September 27, 2011 with cases already scheduled to be heard.
Bumpers College – Honors Program Director Curt Rom
Dr. Rom mentioned that study abroad applications are due October 3. SURF Grants are due October 24-25-26 depending on the first letter of the applicant's last name. Applicants may be able to receive up to $6,000 for all three.
The Honors College is looking for interdisciplinary course proposals at lower levels that also have wide appeal to the Honors Program students.
Course grants of $10,000 to $25,000 from funding amount of $115,000-$225,000 are available. The courses must be a sustainable part of a curriculum and focus on two campus themes: health or sustainability/environment.
International Programs – Jeff Miller on behalf of Andy Proctor
Please click on the link to view Dr. Proctor's summary.
Standing Committee Reports
University Faculty Senate – Curt Rom
The September 14, 2011 minutes (draft) may be found at http://facultysenate.uark.edu/facsen2011to2012/minutes091411.htm
Ag Curriculum Sub-Committee – Leslie Edgar
The Graduate Certificate in Sustainability program was approved.
Program changes were made to POSC 2343 (title and level change) and POSC 1012 (new course, Avian Biology) were approved on second reading at the Ag Curriculum Sub-Committee of September 9, 2011. There was a motion made and seconded to accept the recommendations as proposed by the Ag Curriculum Sub-Committee. Motion adopted by voice approval.
HESC Curriculum Sub-Committee – Kelly Way
Please click on the link to view Dr. Way's summary.
Graduate Council Report – Jackie Wiersma
Dr. Wiersma asked that the Faculty Council members get feedback from their respective departmental faculty regarding adding another classification that would accommodate master's degree-holding faculty and allow them to serve on master's committees without allowing service on doctoral committees. Most of the departments approve the addition of a fourth level of classification. One suggestion is to have that particular person serve as a non-voting member.

Old Business – Jeff Miller
Due to time constraints, Old Business was tabled until the October 21 meeting. Dr. Miller asked Faculty Council members to be prepared to discuss Article 7, Section A, numbers 1 and 2 from the College By-Laws at the October 21 meeting.
New Business – Jeff Miller
Dr. Miller will ask three members from Faculty Council to serve as the Nominations Committee to nominate three faculty members to run for chair-elect of Faculty Council.
The next meeting will be on October 21 at 2:30 pm.
Motion made and seconded to adjourn. The meeting adjourned at 4:10 pm.
Submitted by
Carmen Alessi