Faculty Council Minutes -- October 2009

October 16, 2009
Rosen Center Conference Room

Faculty present:
Mike Richardson – HORT (Chair)
Laurie Apple – HESC (Chair-elect)
Jeff Miller – AEED
Hayden Brown – ANSC
Duane Wolf – CSES (Substitute for Kristofor Brye)
Latha Devareddy – FDSC
Fred Stephen – ENTO
Ken Korth – PLPA
Yi Liang – BAEG (Substitute for Sreekala Bajwa)
Cindy Moore - HESC
Brad Murphy – HORT
Daniel Rainey – AEAB
Others Present
Nann Miller – University Faculty Senate
Larry Purcell – Graduate Council
Administrators present:
Mark Cochran, Associate Vice President for Agriculture - Research
Lalit Verma, Interim Dean and Associate Vice President for Agriculture – Academic Programs
Call to Order – Mike Richardson, chair, called the meeting to order at 2:30 p.m.
Approval of Agenda – Motion made and seconded to approve the agenda with addition of Honors Committee under New Business. Motion adopted by voice approval.
Approval of Minutes – Motion made and seconded to approve September 16, 2009 meeting minutes with one change: delete single sentence on page three, paragraph six.
Administration Reports
Bumpers College - Interim Dean Lalit Verma
The date for the retreat has been selected as November 20 from 10:30 am to 2:30 pm to be held in the Law School. The three sub-committees (Distance Education, Program Viability and Productivity Committee and Time Tabulator Committee) will make reports.
The College's Strategic Plan expires in 2010 and the College will need to prepare for updating it.
A six-year graduation rate committee has been appointed by the provost. Drs. Lalit Verma and Gisela Erf have been asked to serve on this committee.
A department heads meeting was held last week. Dr. Verma proposed adding a young alum award (under the age of 40) and he asked that each department's outstanding alum be considered for this award. The department heads suggested moving the selection process to the fall rather than in the spring to allow for the alum selected to attend a fall college event and attend the college's commencement ceremony. Dr. Verma would like to recognize the outstanding alum selections at one of the college's events.
Promotion and tenure (P&T) packets are due November 13, 2009. Mike Richardson confirmed that the P&T committee has been selected except for the selection of the off-campus representative. There are only four people who meet the criteria as off-campus representatives. There was discussion if the Faculty Council should consider if the current policy continues to be valid.
The budget situation remains uncertain and colleges may have to return some monies to campus.
The Teacher and Course Evaluation Policy has been revised and has been shared with the department heads to complete during the 12th week. The proper forms will be provided by the Dean's Office prior to the 12th week.
Division of Agriculture – Arkansas Agricultural Experiment Station
Associate Vice President - Research Mark Cochran
Roger Beachy has been named as NIFA director for the USDA with Molly John being named as Deputy Undersecretary to Raj Shah. Mr. Shah is a chief scientist and handling all research within USDA. Both Roger and Molly come with biotech backgrounds. NIFA announced four sub-institutes 1) climate and energy, 2) production system, 3) nutrition and child obesity, and 4) people and communities.
The Division of Agriculture has embarked upon strategic planning exercises, which are being viewed as a streamlined approach coordinating with a road map and new funding priorities coming from USDA. There will be a stakeholder meeting with a Web based survey will be completed with one being for faculty and staff and one being for the stakeholders.
Revenues for this past month are lower than in previous months, which mean the budget forecasting will be revised. We have asked for contingency plans from all the unit managers for up to a 10 percent cut from the sum of the unit M&O plus the support personnel of the Experiment Station.
Drs. Cochran and Verma are holding discussions with each department head regarding benchmarking productivity in both teaching and research with a plan as to how each department head manages their investments from the college and from the Experiment Station.
University Faculty Senate– Nann Miller
Dr. Miller provided a summary page from the October 14, 2009 Faculty Senate meeting. The University is planning cautiously for the $2 million that may have to be returned. There has been discussion around the state regarding State Department of Higher Education Bill #182 regarding associate degrees. Please address complaints about the new lighting directly with Mike Johnson of Facilities Management. The next Faculty Senate meeting is November 3, 2009.
Ag Curriculum Committee – Nick Anthony, no report
HESC Curriculum Committee – Laurie Apple, no report
Graduate Council Report – Larry Purcell, no report
Old Business – Mike Richardson
Nominations Committee Update - Ken Korth
A slate of candidates for chair-elect of the Faculty Council includes Hayden Brown, Kris Brye and Jeff Miller. Ballots will go out in November. Dr. Richardson will send the bio forms to the three candidates to complete.
Dr. Shult to attend Fall Faculty meeting - Mike Richardson
Dr. Shult will attend the Fall Faculty meeting on December 9. Faculty Council reps should follow up with their faculty members to see if there are items that Dr. Shult should address at that meeting. Please forward any requests to Dr. Richardson.
New Business – Mike Richardson
Faculty Council is responsible for assembling an Awards Committee. AEAB, AEED, CSES, ENTO, FDSC , HORT and PLPA need to elect representatives to the Awards Committee. Dr. Richardson will send an email to each department head asking for their representative to be elected as soon as possible.
Honors Program Update – Duane Wolf
One of the recommendations resulting from the Honors Program Review was a change in policy to increase the GPA requirements to graduate with distinction from Dale Bumpers College from a 3.25 to a 3.50. This will make it consistent across campus. It will have an impact of students qualifying for the AFLS Honors Program. Of the 102 students currently enrolled in the Honors Program, 21 students from Bumpers College would not meet the new criteria. The new change in policy would take effect for the incoming class of 2010. Please take this new policy change in graduation requirements back to each unit for further discussion and then include at the next Faculty Council meeting.
Announcements - None
Adjournment –
Motion made and seconded to adjourn. The meeting adjourned at 3:03 p.m.
Submitted by
Carmen Alessi