Faculty Council Minutes -- November 2013

November 15, 2013
Rosen Center Conference Room
Faculty present
Donn Johnson – ENTO (Chair)
Kris Brye -CSES
Burt Bluhm- PTSC
Walter Bottje – POSC
Kathy Smith-HESC
Ashley Dowling - ENTO
Andy Proctor – FDSC
Scott Osborn – BAEG
Rick Rorie-ANSC
Dan Rainey-AEAB
Don Edgar-AEED
Mike Thomsen – AEAB
Others Present:
Jessica Hulse – Administrative Specialist-Bumpers College Dean's Office
Kelly Way – Chair, HESC Curriculum Committee
James DiLoreto – Development Assistant-Bumpers College
Mitchell Spearman – Director of Development-Bumpers College
Administrators Present:
Dr. Clarence Watson – Associate V. P., Dr. Mike Vayda – Dean & Associate V.P., Dr. Lona Robertson, Associate Dean

Call to Order – Donn Johnson, Chair, called the meeting to order at 2:30 p.m.

Approval of Agenda – Motion made, seconded and agenda approved.

Approval of Minutes – Motion made, seconded and approved the October 18, 2013, Faculty Council minutes.
Division of Agriculture – Associate Vice President, Dr. Clarence Watson
There is a Farm Bill update, the House and Senate conferees are currently attempting to negotiate a compromise on the Farm Bill. An update on the fiscal year 2014 Federal budget shows markups of the appropriations bill have been very favorable in both chambers. The Division has begun scheduling meetings with the units to identify priorities for the Development campaign. Interviews for Director of the School of Human Environmental Sciences are ongoing. The Division Awards luncheon is scheduled for Friday, January 10, 2014 at the Clarion Hotel in Little Rock.

Please click on the link to view the Division of Agriculture Report.
Bumpers College —Dean, Mike Vayda
Dr. Vayda gave the Capital Campaign presentation. Four major themes were presented: Global future, raising funds for endowed faculty chairs, world class facilities, and incentive for innovation.

Please click on the link to view the Capital Campaign Presentation.
Bumpers College —Associate Dean, Lona Robertson
The College would like to put together an Academic Integrity Committee to meet one Friday a month for approximately 2 ½ hours. Please contact Dr. Robertson if you are interested. The ½-page advising forms are going away. Faculty should be documenting these courses in UA Success and need to be more mindful about documenting. Degree audits in UA Success are generated automatically. A pilot program for the new college advising model is planned using an opt-in/opt-out basis by department.
Please click on the link to view the Graduate Courses in Technical Writing and Public Rhetoric.
Honors Program – Curt Rom, Director, No Report
University Faculty Senate – Bruce Ahrendsen
Bumpers College elected representatives to the Faculty Senate are Curt Rom, Mary Savin, Nilda Burgos, Bruce Ahrendsen, Andy Pereira, and Godwin-Charles Ogbeide. Other Bumpers College faculty on the Faculty Senate: Chair Elect John Rupe and Vice Chair Charles Rosenkrans. The Faculty Senate met on Wednesday, November 13, at 3:30 p.m. in ENGR 209. There is one new tenure track position and one new non-tenure track position. The agenda and minutes for each meeting may be found at: http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/.
Please click on the link to view the Faculty Senate's Report.
Graduate Council - Thad Scott, No Report
Standing Committee Reports:

Scholarship Committee – Bruce Ahrendsen
Please click on the link to view the Scholarship Committee Report.

International Programs – Leslie Edgar, Director

Dr. Glenn Shinn will be speaking from 11am-12pm on November 21, 2013 in the Plant Sciences Building. This is the AECT series, Plant Pathology and Animal Science will present next. If you know of a speaker please contact Rick Bennett. The International Programs deadline is February 1, 2014. If you have announcements for the Daily Headlines please contact Leslie Edgar or Diana Bisbee. Please review Leslie's email regarding tracking international students, this includes graduate and undergraduate students.
Promotion and Tenure Committee – John Clark, Chair

The Promotion and Tenure Committee meets November 18, 2013.

Nomination Committee – Donn Johnson
Dr. Garry McDonald, chair, Dr. Kathleen Smith and Dr. Don Edgar. The committee will send out ballots to the college faculty once it acquires the required three nominees for Faculty Council Chair-elect (it has two nominees to date).
Awards Committee – Kate Shoulders, Chair

Kate Shoulders was elected chair. The call for awards was sent to faculty on Nov. 5th. Please provide a one page summary of accomplishments. A maximum of 10 pages, especially with the faculty awards. The John W. White Awards could be adjusted.

AFLS Curriculum Sub-Committee – Mike Thomsen, Chair
The Committee met on November 8, 2013. Course changes have been approved by the Committee on first and second reading and are presented to the Council for their approval. The Faculty Council approved all course changes (8 courses added), changes to BS and MS program, changes to ANSC Equine Minor, replaced orientation course requirement with UNIV 1001, and aligned CPMG and ESWS Minors with Major.
Please click on the link to view the AFLS Curriculum Sub-Committee Report.

HESC Curriculum Sub-Committee – Kelly Way, Chair

Two courses have been added to HESC curriculum, one course name was changed and two courses were inactivated. The motion to make these changes was approved.

Please click on the link to view the HESC Curriculum Meeting Notes.

Old Business – Donn Johnson, Chair
Do we need consistency across all classes in DBCAFLS to use the same grading system or clearly state the grading system used in the syllabus as noted back in 2008?

In 2008 and again in 2013, the faculty voiced their opinion and made a Motion: To keep the plus/minus grading system optional but state the grading system in the course syllabus and remain with this grading system when submitting grades.

Motion Vote was: 1 nay, 8 yes

New Business – Donn T. Johnson
Is there a need for an Instructor Promotion Ladder?

It was noted that there are ten instructors that could benefit from an Instructor Promotion Ladder that lists title names and criteria (time in service, etc.) to be used when being considered for title and salary range step increases. The DBCAFLS Promotion and Tenure Committee will be instructed to check with other colleges or universities for such a ladder and then compose wording for our Instructor Promotion Ladder.
Discuss faculty concerns to be addressed by our VP of Agriculture, Dr. Mark Cochran, at the next College Faculty meeting in December.
Announcements – Dr. Donn T. Johnson
The College Faculty Meeting is on Dead Day, December 13th from 10 am to 12 noon in Hembree Auditorium.
The Spring Faculty Council meetings on 3rd Fridays: Jan. 17, Feb. 21, Mar. 21, April 28.
Motion made and seconded to adjourn. The meeting adjourned at 5:00 p.m.

Submitted by Jessica Hulse