Faculty Council Minutes -- February 2013

February 22, 2013
Rosen Center Conference Room
Faculty present
Donn Johnson – ENTO (Chair)
Burt Bluhm - PLPA
Kristofor Brye – CSES
Ashley Dowling – ENTO
Don Edgar – AEED
Mike Evans – HORT (Chair-Elect) and substitute for Garry McDonald
Scott Osborn - BAEG
Andy Proctor – FDSC and International Programs
Dan Rainey – AEAB
Rick Rorie– ANSC
Kathy Smith - HESC
Others Present:
Mary Savin – Faculty Senate Representative
Mike Thomsen - Ag Curriculum Sub-Committee, Chair
Administrators Present:
Rick Roeder – Associate Director of Agricultural Experiment Station
Call to Order – Donn Johnson, chair, called the meeting to order at 2:30 p.m.
Approval of Agenda – Motion made and seconded to approve the agenda. Motion adopted by voice approval.
Approval of Minutes – Motion made and seconded to approve the January 18, 2013, Faculty Council minutes with correction: Donna Graham attended as a substitute for Don Edgar of AEED. Motion adopted by voice approval.

Administration Reports
Division of Agriculture –Associate Vice President for Agriculture – Research and
Director, Arkansas Agricultural Experiment Station – Rick Roeder on behalf
of Clarence Watson
Dr. Roeder mentioned fiscal year 2014 budget hearings with department heads will be scheduled in March and will include discussions about staffing needs for each department as well as M&O, one-time requests (example-lab remodels). These budget hearings will include research centers. At the state level, preliminary recommendations are for level funding and are hopeful to include a 2 percent raise. This year there is a $300 million surplus and there is consideration to cut sales tax from 7 percent to 6 percent. The AAES has raised private money for capital improvements with monies coming from Rice Research and Promotion Board. Future meetings: Rice Board meeting on March 1 and 2; Corn Board meeting on March 6 in Little Rock; and Soybean Board meeting on March 7 in Little Rock. The Federal Government wants recognition from the Hatch Program; therefore, we might have to include a logo or statement on slides, emails, etc.
Bumpers College –Dean Mike Vayda, No Report
Bumpers College – Associate Dean Lona J. Robertson, No Report
Honors Program –Curt Rom, Director, No Report
International Programs - Andy Proctor, Director
Please click on the link to view Dr. Proctor's report.
University Faculty Senate – Mary Savin, Representative
Dr. Savin mentioned that Bumpers College must elect four new senators as representatives to Faculty Senate to begin serving in the fall of 2013. Please click on the link to view Dr. Savin's report.
Please click on the link to view the Faculty Senate's meeting minutes from February 13, 2013.
Graduate Council Report – Donn T. Johnson on behalf of Jackie Wiersma, Representative
Dr. Wiersma will email Faculty Council representatives in March for feedback regarding the Graduate School requiring all departments to require the GRE (or other tests). There will be a faculty vote in March. Graduate School is not doing anything with the 4000 classes for now. Nothing was passed.
Please click on the link to view the Graduate Council's February 14, 2013 meeting minutes.

Standing Committee Reports
Promotion and Tenure Committee – Donn T. Johnson on behalf of John Clark, Chair
Faculty Council reps to make sure their respective departments elect a representative to the College P&T Committee. Submit names to Carmen Alessi (calessi@uark.edu) by April 15 deadline.
Awards Committee and Scholarship Committee – Donn T. Johnson on behalf of Lona Robertson, Chair

Awards Committee:
The Awards Committee is currently reviewing application packages for the following awards:
Bumpers Distinguished Scholar Undergraduate Transfer Student (3 applicants)
Bumpers Distinguished Scholars Masters (5 applicants)
Bumper Distinguished Scholar Ph.D. (8 applicants)
John W. White Outstanding Student Award (6 applicants)
The Awards Committee is scheduled to meet on March 4th to make recommendations to the Dean.
Scholarship Committee:
Bumpers College received 648 viable applications this year: 450 current students, 48 transfer students, 150 incoming freshmen. The Scholarship Committee is currently reviewing/ranking the incoming freshmen and transfer student applications. When the Committee convenes March 4, their first order of business will be to select a Committee Chair, then to begin awarding scholarships designated for these student groups. Hard-copy letters are targeted to be sent to incoming freshmen and transfer students during the week of Spring Break.
The Committee will also review/rank all current student applications and reconvene to make the remaining scholarship awards. As an updated FAFSA report will not be received by the University until mid- to late-April, the Committee must decide whether to have a third meeting in which to award need-based scholarships, or delay the second meeting until all information is available. 2013-2014 scholarship notifications to current students are dependent on the meeting date.
Ag Curriculum Sub-Committee – Mike Thomsen, Chair
Please click on the link to view Dr. Thomsen's report.
HESC Curriculum Sub-Committee – Kelly Way, Chair – No Report
Old Business – Donn T. Johnson
Revised College Faculty By-laws (approved on 18 December 2012) are online under Policies & Guidelines at: https://bumperscollege.uark.edu/6654.php
New Business – Donn T. Johnson
Faculty Senate Elections. We have 2 DBCAFLS faculty whose terms as At-Large Faculty Senators end July 2013: Donald Johnson and John Rupe. Hopefully, at least 2 DBCAFLS faculty will submit their nomination forms to David Gay (dgay@uark.edu) to be considered for 1 of the 6 At-Large Faculty Senator positions or other governance positions for July 2013 and beyond. The Faculty Council Nominations Committee is seeking nominees from Bumpers College to elect two senators as representatives to the Faculty Senate with terms beginning on July 1, 2013. Terms of Curt Rom and Mary Savin end July 2013, whereas terms for Nilda Burgos, Bruce Ahrendsen, Andy Pereira, Godwin-Charles A. Ogbeide do not end until July 2014. Please forward your nominees for Faculty senate to Carmen Alessi (calessi@uark.edu). Ballots will be emailed in late-March and votes will be counted by noon on April 15, 2013.
Please include:
• Rank
• Department
• Relevant University Service Experience (committees, years, office)
• Relevant College Service Experience (committees, years, office)
• Relevant Department Service Experience (committees, years, office)
Guns on Campus. Faculty and staff members in Arkansas would be allowed to carry concealed handguns on the state's college campuses. Measure was approved on Friday 15 February 2013 by Arkansas State Representatives. How has the campus responded to this ruling? Dr. Roeder mentioned earlier in the meeting that the Division of Agriculture does not approve of hand guns on campus with the exception of allowing guns at the station level to help keep away pesky animals.
Announcements – Donn T. Johnson
The next Faculty Council meeting is March 15 at 2:30 pm in the APC Rosen Center Conference Room
Motion made and seconded to adjourn. The meeting adjourned at 3:25 pm
Submitted by
Carmen Alessi