Faculty Council Minutes- February 2007

February 9, 2007, 2:30 p.m.
Rosen Center Conference Room

Faculty Present: C. Rosenkrans, Chair, F. Stephen (ENTO), D. Karcher (HORT), D. Wolf (CSES), G. Milus (PLPA), J. Wang (FDSC) and H. Brown (ANSC)

Others Present:
Dr. Greg Weidemann, Dean
Dr. Donna Graham, Associate Dean

1. Call to Order - C. Rosenkrans, chair, called the meeting to order at 2:30 p.m.

2. Approval of Minutes - F. Stephens moved to approve the January 26th, 2007 minutes, H. Brown seconded. Motion passed.

3. Reports -

A. Administration - No report.

Dr. Graham said that all but one department had turned in their assessment plans. Dr. Talburt was in the process of reviewing them and has given some feedback, but was only considering them as drafts at this point. They will be sent back to the departments for correction and eventually they will be posted on the web for outside review.

B. Faculty Senate - No report.

C. HESC Curriculum Committee - No report.

D. Agriculture Curriculum Committee - No report. HORT and ANSC will review some changes and report at next meeting.

E. Ad Hoc Non-Tenure Track Hiring Practice Committee

F. Stephen reported that Dr. Cochran requested to meet with the committee and discuss the four major points or cornerstones. The points being: (1) Division Administration having some sort of signature or authority of approval on promotion and tenure positions, (2) Revisiting and possibly restructuring, re-evaluating, redefining post tenure and accountability procedures, (3) How tenure is defined and related to agriculture, (4) In each unit core faculty - proportion of some tenure and some non-tenure.

In the discussion with Dr. Cochran, we (committee) made it clear that we were happy to discuss the four points, not necessarily accepting or agreeing with the points. We wanted to make sure the philosophy of the faculty is being adequately represented. As a group we do not accept that there should be different tenures and did not believe that the tenures should be split. Concern with accountability could be addressed in the post tenure review process, but the committee has not dealt with this yet. Dr. Cochran was going to summarize these points and get back to the committee.

G. Milus resigned his position on the ad hoc committee, C. Rosenkrans regretfully accepted his resignation and thanked him for his service.

4. Old Business -

A. By Laws question related to faculty definition

After much discussion, it is unclear how to define who is to be counted as "faculty".

B. By Laws question related to experiment station representative.

This will require a formal By Law change with a committee appointment and was decided to not act at this time.

5. Meeting was adjourned at 3:20 p.m.

Respectively submitted,
Kathy England